Saturday, July 13, 2024

Increasing tax transfers to states: A beneficial alternative

The Special Category States: Financial Assistance and Developmental Challenges

The Special Category states in India have been a topic of much debate and discussion in recent years. These states receive special financial assistance and other benefits from the central government due to their unique developmental needs and challenges. The criteria for determining Special Category status include factors such as hilly terrain, low population density, strategic location along borders, economic and infrastructure backwardness, and non-viable state finances.

Currently, there are 11 states that enjoy Special Category status, including Jammu and Kashmir, Assam, Nagaland, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, and Uttarakhand. These states receive a higher share of central assistance, with a 90:10 funding formula for centrally sponsored schemes, compared to 60:40 for other states. They also benefit from tax concessions and the ability to carry forward unutilized funds.

However, there are states like Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha that have been denied Special Category status despite their demands. The 14th Finance Commission recommended abolishing Special Category status for all states except those in the Northeastern region and three hill states. This has led to calls for alternative methods of addressing the resource gap in these states, such as increasing tax transfers from the central government.

Former RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan has proposed a multidimensional index-based classification as an alternative to the Special Category status. However, the decision by the 16th Finance Commission to increase tax transfers to states from 32% to 42% has been seen as a more effective way to address the fiscal constraints of these states. This increase in tax transfers could potentially reach around 50%, providing a more sustainable solution for states with high poverty levels, reduced fiscal space, and climate change vulnerabilities.

In conclusion, the debate over Special Category states in India is not just a technical issue but also a political and economic one. The decision by the 16th Finance Commission will play a crucial role in determining the future of these states and how their developmental needs are addressed. Increasing tax transfers could be a viable alternative to granting Special Category status, providing a more equitable and sustainable solution for all states in need of assistance.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is for informational purposes only and should not be considered as financial advice. The content is based on general research and may not be accurate, reliable, or up-to-date. Before making any financial decisions, it is recommended to consult with a professional financial advisor or conduct thorough research to verify the accuracy of the information presented. The author and publisher disclaim any liability for any financial losses or damages incurred as a result of relying on the information provided in this article. Readers are encouraged to independently verify the facts and information before making any financial decisions.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Articles